Saturday 26th January 2013

Havilland Willshire (Piano)

Unfortunately this concert had to be postponed at 9:00 on the day, as the artist couldn’t get here from Glasgow because of snow.

We managed to contact most people in advance (through this web-site and our Email list), but unfortunately 3 couples had to be turned away at the door. We now have contact details for them, just in case it ever happens again. If you would like to be added to our Email list, then please contact us via the Contact Details page.

This concert has been rearranged for October 5th 2013

Season Tickets for the 2012-13 season were valid for the re-arranged date.

 The full list of works was confirmed as

Beethoven – Sonata no. 27 in E minor op. 90
Schumann – Arabesque op. 18
Brahms – Two Rhapsodies op. 79
Liszt – Zwei Lieder von Robert Schumann
Chopin – Polonaise in C minor op. 40 no. 2
Chopin – Scherzo no 3 in C# minor op. 39

Press Release

For the first concert of 2013 the Middlewich and District Concerts Society is delighted once again to welcome the pianist Havilland Willshire to play for us. We have been so impressed that this is becoming a biennial visit! He was a student at the Royal Northern College of Music and has pursued an active career as a soloist and as a chamber musician. However, teaching has always been of great interest to him. In fact he is currently Head of the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama Junior Department, but he remains an accomplished performer. He is also much in demand as an adjudicator. So we could say that he is not afraid to practise what he preaches!

The music we know will be included in the programme are by Beethoven (Sonata no. 27, opus 90), Schumann (Arabesque, opus 18), Chopin (Polonaise in C minor, opus  40/2) and two of Brahms’ Rhapsodies. You will just have to come to the concert to find out what else might turn up.

Previous Concert Full Season Next Concert