Saturday 10th November 2012

Lauren Scott
“The Magical Harp”


Bourée – J.S Bach (1685-1750) arranged Grandjany
Sonata No 1. – John Parry (1710-1782) (Allegro – Andante – Gavotta)
Siciliana – O. Respighi (1879-1936) arranged Grandjany
La Source – Albert Zabel (1834-1910)
Nocturne – Mikhail Glinka (1804-1857)
La Féerie – Marcel Tournier (1879-1951)


La Muerte del Angel – Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
Milonga del Angel – Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
Clair de Lune – Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Malaguena – Ernesto Lacuona (1895-1963)
Farewell to Stromness – Peter Maxwell Davies (b. 1934)
Crossing Waves – Andy Scott (b. 1966)

Press Report

We were promised a magical evening of harp music, and that was what we got. Lauren Scott kept a large audience enthralled in the Middlewich and District Concerts Society’s November concert.

Not only did she play music ranging from a Bourée by J. S. Bach to “Crossing Waves” by her husband Andy Scott, but she explained the origins of a lot of the music for harp available today and the physical development of the instrument.

The basic design of the modern harp dates from about 1810, with a single row of strings and a pedal for each note of the scale to change the tonality. Most of the music she played was on an impressive gold one made in 2008, with 47 strings. She also demonstrated a smaller one with 27 strings of a different material. This produced quite a different sound and was very effective in “Farewell to Stromness” by Peter Maxwell Davies. Perhaps the most magical piece she played (on the larger instrument) was an arrangement of “Clair de Lune” by Debussy. Worth the admission just for that! And appropriate since it could be argued that much of the modern interest in and availability of music for the harp stems from the Paris Conservatoire.

– – – – –

For more information about Lauren Scott visit her own web-site (in a new window), by clicking HERE

Previous Concert Full Season Next Concert