Saturday 1st October 2016

Kell Wind Trio (3 Wind Instruments + Harpsichord)

The Kell Wind Trio comprises Alastair Roberts (flute), Geoffrey Smith (clarinet) and Ian Harvey (bassoon). They are joined for this concert by the well-known harpsichordist Peter Collier.

The Kell Wind Trio has gained a reputation for giving lively concerts which include music of many different styles and genres – from music of the Baroque to accessible music from the 19th and 20th centuries.  The informative and informal manner in which they introduce the music that they play has proved extremely popular with their audiences. They are named after the pioneering English instrumentalist Reginald Kell, who was the first clarinettist to use vibrato in orchestral concerts.

Peter Collier was for over thirty years director of the Oxford Baroque Week.

Here is a PDF of the Poster for this Concert. (click to VIEW or right click to SAVE). Please feel free to print and display the brochure to help publicise this concert.

Programme (announced 30th August)

Haydn: London Trio No.1 (3 movements)
Milhaud: Suite d’apres Corrette for Wind Trio (4 movements)
Dances associated with Queen Elizabeth 1 for Harpsichord
Roman: Flute Sonata in C Minor (4 movements)
Mozart: Serenade in C K.439b (4 movements)


Beethoven: Scherzo and Finale Op. 87
Tansman: Suite for Wind Trio (4 movements)
Dances associated with Queen Elizabeth 1 for Harpsichord
Quantz: Sonata in G Major for Clarinet, Bassoon & Continuo
Delibes: Flower Duet from “Lakmé”
Abreu: Tico Tico
Rossini: Largo al Factotum from “The Barber of Seville”

Brief Report “on the night”

An entertaining and varied concert. As well as the wind trio, we had solos by the harpsichord, a harpsichord/flute duet and a clarinet/harpsichord/bassoon trio.

All pictures taken by Roger Evans

Press Report

The Middlewich and District Concerts Society opened their 27th season with a recital by the Kell Wind Trio – Alastair Roberts (flute), Geoffrey Smith (clarinet) and Ian Harvey (bassoon). They were joined by Peter Collier, who played a harpsichord he had constructed.

The concert began with the London Trio No. 1 by Haydn, written for the Earl of Abingdon, a fine flute player. Then followed Milhaud’s Suite d’après Corrette. Milhaud’s pupils included Dave Brubeck and Burt Bacharach. Peter played two voltas by William Byrd. Queen Elizabeth I was a keen dancer and would have danced to them. Roman’s Flute Sonata and the Serenade K439b by Mozart concluded the first half.

After the interval we heard the Scherzo and Finale, Opus 87, by Beethoven, Tansman’s Suite for Wind Trio and more dances (galliards by John Bull and John Dowland). The final section comprised the Sonata for Clarinet, Bassoon and Continuo by Quantz, the Flower Duet from “Lakmé” by Delibes, Abreu’s Tico Tico and Largo al Factotum from “The Barber of Seville” by Rossini. As an encore they played the Can Can from “Orpheus in the Underworld” by Offenbach. All the pieces were introduced with clarity and fascinating anecdotes by Alastair and Peter, which helped to make it a really enjoyable evening.

– – – – –

For more information about the Kell Wind Trio visit their own web-site (in a new window), by clicking HERE

Previous Season Full Season Next Concert