Saturday 16th May 2015

Sophie Rosa (Violin) accompanied by Nicholas Oliver (Piano)

Sophie Rosa Sophie & Nicholas last Season With our youngest member Freya

(Photos: copyright Sophie Rosa, Roger Evans, Peter Powell)

Sophie is a local girl from Cuddington. She plays a 1790 “Joseph Gagliano” violin. Last Season’s concert was so enthusiastically received (“a terrific evening of music making”) that we quickly booked them again. Make sure you don’t miss out this Season!

Here is a PDF of the Poster for this Concert. (click to VIEW or right click to SAVE). Please feel free to print and display the brochure to help publicise this concert.

Programme (announced 27th March, order of pieces changed 10th May)

Mozart: Violin Sonata in A Major K305 (2 movements)
Beethoven: Violin Sonata No. 5 in F Major “Spring”  Op. 24 (4 movements)
Gershwin: Selections from ‘Porgy and Bess’ arr. Heifetz
1) Bess, You is my Woman Now / 2) It Ain’t Necessarily So


Brahms: Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Major Op. 78 (4 movements)
Wieniawski: Polonaise de Concert in D Major Op. 4

Press Report

Sophie Rosa (violin) and Nicholas Oliver (piano) provided a terrific ending to the Middlewich and District Concerts Society’s 25th season. The packed audience was ample evidence of the level of anticipation these players engender and they were not disappointed.

The concert began with sonatas by  Mozart (K305) and Beethoven (Opus 24, “Spring”). These are quite lively pieces and were played with confidence and vigour, leaving the audience spell-bound. The first half concluded with arrangements by Heifetz of two pieces from Porgy & Bess, “Bess, you is my woman now” and “It ain’t necessarily so”. The lazy strains were a relaxing complement to the earlier works and left the audience ready to enjoy the half-time refreshments (which included wine and nibbles to celebrate the end of the 25th Season).

The second half began with a sonata by Brahms (Opus 78) written as a response to his godson’s premature death. It was almost unbelievably tender and moving. The programme finished with Wieniawski’s Polonaise in D, a show piece for violin. Well, not quite the end, for we were treated to an encore, an exquisitely beautiful and haunting rendition of “Summertime”, also from Porgy and Bess. And thus ended a terrific evening of music making.

All pictures taken by Roger Evans

For more information about Sophie Rosa visit her own web-site (in a new window), by clicking HERE

Previous Concert Full Season Next Season