Saturday 25th January 2014

Sophie Rosa (Violin) accompanied by Nicholas Oliver (Piano)

Specially requested by one of our sponsors after hearing her perform, Sophie lives locally in Cuddington. She is one of Britain’s most exciting young violinists and is already gaining quite an international reputation. As well as broadcasting live on BBC Radio 3 and Classic fm, she also recently gave a recital at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester.

Here is a PDF of the Poster for this Concert. (click to VIEW or right click to SAVE). Please feel free to print and display the brochure to help publicise this concert.

Programme (announced 5th December)

Beethoven – Sonata no.1 in D major opus 12
1. Allegro con brio
2. Tema con variazioni: Andante con moto
3. Rondo: Allegro
Elgar – Violin Sonata in E minor opus 82
1. Allegro: Risoluto
2. Romance: Andante
3. Allegro non troppo

 I N T E R V A L

Schubert – Sonata in A major ‘Grand Duo’ opus 162
1. Allegro moderato
2. Scherzo: presto
3. Andantino
4. Allegro vivace
Wagner – Albumblatt (arranged August Wilhelmj)
Ravel – Tzigane

For more information about Sophie Rosa visit her own web-site (in a new window), by clicking HERE

Post-Concert Report

Over 60 people gathered to hear this exciting concert, and they weren’t disappointed. The Beethoven provided a thrilling start, but then the Elgar was another step upwards as it was so full of emotion as to be absolutely heart-rending. After the break, the Schubert was a wonderful duet. The mystery arranger of the Wagner was explained to be an earlier owner of her 1790’s Joseph Gagliano violin. Finally the Ravel was mesmerising in its speed and virtuosity. Let’s hope we can persuade Sophie to return again soon! 


They came, they played, they conquered. Sophie Rosa (violin) and Nicholas Oliver (piano) provided a capacity audience at the Middlewich and District Concerts Society’s January concert with performances of great virtuosity and musicality.

The concert began with a youthful sonata by Beethoven, full of bravura and hints of what was to come. Then followed Elgar’s violin sonata. This was composed in 1919 and, as might be expected, was somewhat melancholy in mood and heart-rending at times. The middle movement was particularly emotional.

The second half brought us out of our reverie with another youthful sonata, the “Grand Duo” by Schubert. This composer had the knack of writing memorable tunes as the last movement in particular demonstrated. Sophie’s violin was made by Joseph Gagliano in 1790. It was previously owned by August Wilhelmj, who made the arrangement of Wagner’s Albumblatt which they played next. The programme finished with Ravel’s Tzigane, a show piece for violin. Well, not quite, for we were treated to an encore, a habanera by Ravel. And thus ended a terrific evening of music making.

Previous Concert Full Season Next Concert