Saturday 30th January 2016

Darian Duo (Violin and Cello)

The Darian Duo is Dorin Tuca (violin) and Stephen Laidlaw (cello)

Since graduating from the Royal Northern College of Music, they have both performed internationally, together as chamber musicians, and also individually as soloists. Their aim is to communicate the unique impact of live music-making, delivering a wide range of repertoire with spontaneity, virtuosity and integrity.

Here is a PDF of the Poster for this Concert. (click to VIEW or right click to SAVE). Please feel free to print and display the brochure to help publicise this concert.

Programme (announced 15th January)

J.S. Bach: 2 part Inventions Nos. 1&2
Reinhold Gliere: Eight Duets
V Monti: – Czardas


J.S.Bach: 2 part Inventions Nos. 3&4
Maurice Ravel: – Sonate en Quartre Parties
Handel/Halvorsen: – Passacaglia

NOTE – The Darian Duo was originally Violin and Piano (which is how they appear in our printed season brochure). However they have now changed to be Violin and Cello (as advertised on this page and in our on-line season brochure). We apologise for any confusion caused by this change, and hope that you will enjoy them in their new incarnation.

Press Report

Violin and cello is not a common combination of instruments for chamber music. However, the Darian Duo (Dorin Tuca, violin and Stephen Laidlaw, cello) were able to demonstrate how well it can work at the latest Middlewich and District Concerts Society concert.  

Both halves began with a Two Part Invention (1 and 6) and a Canon (4 and 2) from the Art of Fugue by J. S. Bach. Bach wrote lots of pieces to demonstrate musical composition techniques and to test the performers. These are not particularly melodic, but require great precision in performance, which was achieved effortlessly. In contrast Reinhold Gliere’s Eight Duets were engaging, ranging in mood from an almost melancholic reflectiveness to dashing country dances. Monti’s Czardas is a real show piece for the violin and an exuberant performance of it brought the first half to a rousing conclusion.

The performers described the “Sonate en Quatre Parties” by Ravel as weird. It was certainly quite unlike anything of his we had heard before. Nevertheless it was absorbing and would be well worth exploring again. The Passacaglia by Johan Halvorsen, based on a theme by Handel, brought the concert to a satisfying conclusion.

All pictures taken by Roger Evans

Previous Concert Full Season Next Concert