Saturday 15th November 2014

The Pleyel Ensemble (Cello and Piano)

Heather Bills (Cello) and Harvey Davies (Piano)  gave us “an enthralling and entertaining recital” on their 2012 visit.

Heather’s wonderful 200 year old cello has been re-designed several times as the modern cello developed. We are delighted to welcome them back for what promises to be a great night

Here is a PDF of the Poster for this Concert. (click to VIEW or right click to SAVE). Please feel free to print and display the brochure to help publicise this concert.

Programme (announced 28th October)

BACH: Gamba Sonata No 2 in D Major (Adagio/Allegro/Andante/Allegro)
SCHUMANN: Fünf Stücke im Volkston ( Mit Humor/Langsam/Nicht schnell, mit viel Ton zu spielen/Nicht zu rasch/Stark und markiert)


SHOSTAKOVICH: Sonata in D min Op.40
(Allegro non troppo/Allegro/Largo/Allegro)

Press Report

For the second concert of the season the Middlewich and District Concerts Society were treated by the Pleyel Ensemble (Heather Bills, cello, and Harvey Davies, piano) to a recital that was both enthralling and entertaining.

Heather explained that her cello was originally made in 1620, but rather larger than its current size, having been rebuilt in the 18th century. It certainly produced a gorgeous sound. They started the recital with a sonata for gamba and harpsichord by JS Bach. This transferred well to cello and piano, being bright, with clear lines. There followed Schumann’s “Fünf Stücke im Volkston” (five pieces in a folk style). For a relatively unknown piece, there was much to enjoy.

The second half began with Kenneth Leighton’s “Elegy”, sombre and absorbing as the title suggests. The last piece was the sonata by Shostakovich. With music of this quality one wonders why he only wrote one! It was full of melodies, with both tenderness and bravura bordering on the reckless and called for great technique on the part of the musicians. Some of the sounds coming from the cello were extraordinary and the piano was given a real workout. Moreover, it kept the audience engaged throughout. What a privilege to have been there!

All pictures taken by Roger Evans

For more information about the Pleyel Ensemble visit their own web-site (in a new window), by clicking HERE

Previous Concert Full Season Next Concert