Saturday 11th May 2013

The Pleyel Ensemble (Cello and Piano)

Heather Bills   Harvey Davies     

COUPERIN : Pieces en Concert
SCHUMANN : Fantasiestucke Op 73
MARTINU : Variations on a theme of Rossini
RACHMANINOV : Sonata in G min Op 19


The twenty-third season of concerts promoted by the Middlewich and District Concerts Society ended with an enthralling and entertaining recital by the Pleyel Ensemble (Heather Bills, cello, and Harvey Davies, piano).

Heather explained that her cello is over 200 years old, but originally rather larger than its current size. It has been rebuilt several times as the modern cello developed. It certainly produced a gorgeous sound. Harvey introduced each of the pieces with a few words about the composer and their times.

The recital progressed chronologically, starting with Couperin’s “Pieces en Concert”, and continuing with Schumann’s “Fantasiestucke” and Martinu’s “Variations on a Theme of Rossini”. The second half was devoted to Rachmaninov’s Sonata in G minor. This is an expansive piece and technically very demanding for both the pianist and the cellist. Harvey said that he “hoped the piano would survive”! It did. The result was a thrilling experience for all and a tremendous conclusion to the concert.

After the concert the audience were invited to thank Joy Naylor for all the hard work she had done in organising such a wonderful season of concerts. They responded with sustained and enthusiastic applause.

– – – – –

For more information about the Pleyel Ensemble visit their own web-site (in a new window), by clicking HERE

Previous Concert Full Season Next Season